clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The 2017 MLS All-Star Vote is Now Open

With plenty of Loons players to choose from, be sure to vote early and vote often!

MLS: All-Star Team Training and Media Availability Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

It’s that time of the year again. Major League Soccer has opened the vote for the All-Star team’s Fan XI ballot. You can cast your votes only via the MLS app for the next handful of days, which is available for free on iPhone and Android. MLS will extend voting to individual club websites and the league’s web page,, this Saturday.

Minnesota United, much like every other team, has eight players that are available to be voted on via the ballot. These players are Marc Burch, Francisco Calvo, Bobby Shuttleworth, Sam Cronin, Miguel Ibarra, Kevin Molino, and Johan Venegas. The one notable player missing from Minnesota’s roster is Ibson, who did not make the ballot. Fans are allowed to vote once per day from now until voting closes on June 30th.

The league has also an interesting system for deciding who the third forward on the team will be. From now until June 30th at midnight, when a goal is scored in FIFA 17 using a forward that is on the All-Star ballot, that player will receive a vote. Come June 30th, the player with the most goals tallied by the fans makes the squad. All-in-all it’s a pretty neat idea, and they will be tallying goal totals across the Xbox One, Playstation 4, Xbox 360, and Playstation 3. Unfortunately for Loons fans, the team’s only forward on the ballot is Christian Ramirez, who is not in the game.

The MLS All-Star squad is set to face off against Real Madrid on August 2nd at Soldier Field in Chicago. Fire manager Veljko Paunovic will be tasked with leading the MLS’ best against Real Madrid, who won La Liga Santander this season and playing in the Champions League Final this weekend.

Which Loons players deserve a spot on the All-Star team? Let us know in the comments below.